National Minimum Wage Commission

​​​​​​​​​The National Minimum Wage Commission was established by section 8 of the National Minimum Wages Act​​ 9 of 2018 which took effect on 1 January 2019. The Minister of Employment and Labour after consultation with NEDLAC appointed the chairperson and three independent experts and the members nominated by organized business community and organized labour.

The National Minimum Wage Commission presently comprises of the following members:

Chairperson: Prof Adriaan van der Walt

Independent experts:

  • Dr Neva Makgetla
  • Dr Sarah Mosoetsa
  • Prof Imraan Valodia

Organised business:

  • Mr. Kaizer Moyane 
  • Mr. Jonathan Goldberg
  • Ms. Jahni de Villers 
Organised labour:

  • Mr. Trenton Elsley 
  • Mr. Solly Phetoe
  • Mr. Edward Thobejane

Organised Community:

  • Ms. Isobel Frye
  • Ms. Conti Matlakala
  • Mr. Tumelo Zwane

The functions of the Commission are set out in section 11 of the National Minimum Wages Act​​ as follows:

review the national minimum wage and recommend adjustments​
investigate and report annually to the Minister on the  impact​ of the national minimum wage on the economy, collective bargaining and the reduction in income
        differentials and make such information available to the public;
investigate income differentials and recommend benchmarks for proportion- ate income differentials; 
set medium term targets for the national minimum wage within three years of the commencement of this Act; and 
advise the Minister on measures to reduce income differentials or any other matter on which the Minister requests the Commission’s advice; 
advise the Minister on sectoral determinations​; 
advise the Minister on any matter concerning basic conditions of employment; and
perform any such function as may be required of the Commission in terms of any other employment law.