SA hosts the 45th African Regional Labour Administration Centre (ARLAC) Governing Council meeting
13 February 2019


South Africa through the Department of Labour is to host the 45th African Regional Labour Administration Centre (ARLAC) Governing Council meeting at Zimbali Lodge in Durban, KwaZulu-Natal.

The week-long event which starts on 26 February 2019 to 01 March 2019 brings together labour/employment/manpower ministers. The 45th ARLAC Governing Council meeting will start with a two-day meeting of the committee of senior officials. The third day of the meeting of senior officials is expected to be chaired by Minister for Public Service, Labour & Social Welfare (Zimbabwe).

On 28 February there will be a ministerial high level symposium - on violence and harassment of women and men at work - which will be chaired by South Africa’s Labour Minister Mildred Oliphant, who is also a member of the governing council of ARLAC.

The 45th African Regional Labour Administration Centre meeting is expected to conclude on Friday (March 1) with the launch of the Future of Work Global Commission’s report and an address by South Africa’s President Cyril Ramaphosa.

The day’s proceedings will culminate with a gala dinner to celebrate the ILO’s centenary.

Also expected to grace the event and give an address will be the International Labour Organization (ILO) Director-General, Guy Ryder. Ryder will be attending the event as part of ILO centenary celebrations which kicked-off in January.

The African Regional Labour Administration Centre is currently based in Zimbabwe. The organisation was conceived in 1974, as a project of the ILO and United Nations Development Programme for the development of Labour Administration in member countries. In 1982, it transformed into a unique organization with its independent Governing Council, comprising labour ministries from its member countries.

Membership of the Centre is drawn from English-speaking countries. These member-states have formally ratified the ARLAC Agreement which binds them to the pursuit of the Centre’s objectives and to the support of its operations.

Member countries of ARLAC include: Botswana, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. 

The specific general objectives of the Centre, as provided for in article 2 of the ARLAC Agreement include the following:

·         The provision of training for officials at all levels of labour administration system.

·         The provision of consultancy and advisory services directed towards strengthening labour administration in member countries

·         The undertaking of studies and research in all aspects of labour administration

·         The provision of information services for the benefits of member countries

·         Production and publishing of training materials


NB: Media is invited to the event. Accreditation to attend the gathering will be done on site during the event starting from 25 February.


Issued by:


Department of Labour Spokesperson

Teboho Thejane

082 697 0694