Home   About Us | Contacts | Services | Media Desk | Tenders | Vacancies
Site Map
Personal tools
You are here: Home Media Desk Media Alerts Second round of national series roadshows on the National Minimum Wage Bill Exemption process with employers set to commence next week in Gauteng
     Department of Labour Fraud line-08600 22 194   Southern African Development Community  BRICS Business Council
Document Actions

Second round of national series roadshows on the National Minimum Wage Bill Exemption process with employers set to commence next week in Gauteng

by lloyd last modified 2018-03-15 11:01


The Department of Labour will be embarking on another national series of roadshows on the National Minimum Wage (NMW), this time focusing on the Bill Exemption process with employers’ across the country.

The bill which is set to pave way for the NMW in South Africa is currently in Parliament and has been published for the public to make representation by 16 March 2018.

The briefing sessions will commence in Johannesburg next week on Monday, 19 March at Orion Hotel, 16th Floor, Orion Building, 49 Jorissen St, Braamfontein, and then followed by Pretoria on Tuesday, 20 March at Southern Sun Pretoria, corner Pretorius and Steve Biko Streets in Arcadia.

Under the new law, employers will have to pay their staff a minimum wage of R20 an hour with the exception of sectors such as the farm/forestry, domestic and expanded public works programme workers, that have been given a longer transition period to pay R18, R15 and R11 per hour respectively. The NMW is set for implementation from 1 May 2018.

Section 15 of the Bill makes a provision for an employer or an employers’ organisation registered in terms of section 96 of the Labour Relations Act, acting on behalf of its members to apply for an exemption in the prescribed form and manner from paying the NMW.

The Department has drafted Regulations to this effect and, is currently designing an IT system that will make provision for applicants to apply for exemptions online. These regulations and the new NMW exemption system therefore compels the Department to meet with employers and employer organisations across the country in order to present the draft regulations, the application system and ways of calculating.

The next briefing sessions are lined up as follows: Cape Town (22 March), George (23 March), Durban (27 March), Richards Bay (28 March), Lichtenburg (03 April), Springbok (05 April), Upington (06 April), East London (09 April), Port Elizabeth (10 April), Nelspruit (12 April), Piet Retief (13 April), Tzaneen (16 April), Polokwane (17 April),  Bloemfontein (19 April) and culminating in Bethlehem on (20 April).

Venues for the other provinces will be communicated in due course and can be viewed on the Department of Labour website.

The briefing sessions will be held from 10:00 -13:00.



Issued by:

Teboho Thejane 

Departmental Spokesperson 

082 697 0694

Copyright ©2019 The South African Department of Labour:
Home | Disclaimer | PAIA | Privacy PolicyWebmaster