Home   About Us | Contacts | Services | Media Desk | Tenders | Vacancies
Site Map
Personal tools
You are here: Home Media Desk Media Alerts Department of Labour to host SADC Employment and Labour Sector Tripartite Technical Meeting
     Department of Labour Fraud line-08600 22 194   Southern African Development Community  BRICS Business Council
Document Actions

Department of Labour to host SADC Employment and Labour Sector Tripartite Technical Meeting

by lloyd last modified 2018-02-22 13:26

22 February 2018

Department of Labour will host the Southern African Development Community (SADC) Employment and Labour Sector Tripartite Technical Meeting at the Cape Town International Conference Centre in Cape Town from 26 to 28 February 2018.

The meeting will review the implementation of the decisions taken by the Ministerial and Social Partners in 2017; adopt a declaration affirming their decisions towards effective implementation of the Employment and Labour Sector (ELS) Programme of Action in accordance with the SADC Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISDP) 2015-2020; discuss current labour market developments and adopt a new programme under the next chair.

Sipho Ndebele the Chief Director for the Department of Labour’s International Relations unit said “Some of the issues on the agenda include items such as globalisation, global supply chain, small medium and micro enterprises as well as apprenticeship and youth employment.

The meeting, held under the theme “Horizon Decent Work: advancing connectivity, coherence and inclusivity” is aimed at paving the way for the SADC assembly of Ministers of Employment and Labour, and Social Partners which will be hosted by Minister Mildred Oliphant at the same venue from 1 to 2 March 2018.

Minister Mildred Oliphant took the reins of the chairpersonship of the SADC ELS at a meeting that was held in the Kingdom of Swaziland the previous year and will hand over to the new chairperson in August this year.

Expected at the meeting are delegates from Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe as well as representatives from the International Labour Organisation. –ENDS-

Issued by:

Teboho Thejane 

Departmental Spokesperson 

082 697 0694

Copyright ©2019 The South African Department of Labour:
Home | Disclaimer | PAIA | Privacy PolicyWebmaster