Home   About Us | Contacts | Services | Media Desk | Tenders | Vacancies
Site Map
Personal tools
You are here: Home Media Desk Media Alerts Department of Labour ready for registration of unclaimed benefits for ex-mineworkers in John Taolo Gaetsewe District
     Department of Labour Fraud line-08600 22 194   Southern African Development Community  BRICS Business Council
Document Actions

Department of Labour ready for registration of unclaimed benefits for ex-mineworkers in John Taolo Gaetsewe District

by lloyd last modified 2018-08-01 17:24

1 August 2018

The Department of Labour and its entity, the Unemployment Insurance Fund (UIF), held a successful stakeholder briefing session with stakeholders in the John Taolo Gaetsewe District on 24 July 2018. This fruitful engagement is a final preparation for the start of the campaign from 13 – 16 August and 3 – 6 September 2018. This campaign is aimed at ex-mineworkers who left employment in the mines prior to 01 April 2002. This category of workers is urged to come and make applications for unclaimed benefits from the UIF.

All ex-mineworkers who left their employment after that date will be assessed in line with the Unemployment Insurance Act of 2001 (as Amended).

The Department of Labour as the agent charged with responsibility of tracing and paying these ex-mineworkers urges all potential applicants to bring along the following documents for verification:

·          Identity document

·          Access card (from previous mine employer)

·          IRP 5 (from the previous mine employer)

·          Old Blue card

·          Previous salary advice

·          Or any proof of mine employment (including “Makhulu’s kop” card, Dompas or TEBA records)

The registration will be held as follows:

Date: 13 – 14 August 2018

Venue:  Ga – Segonyana Town Hall (Kuruman)

Time: 08:30

This registration is done in line with the Peoples’ Assembly which was held in Mbhizana, Eastern Cape. A motion was tabled in the National Assembly on 19 September 2007 for Parliament to establish a committee that will look at issues of ex-mineworkers.

The campaign will continue on 15 - 16 August 2018 servicing areas of Bothitong and Dithakong at Dithakong Tribal Office. Other areas to be visited in the John Taolo Gaetsewe district will be publicised as the campaign continues.


Media enquiries:


Kebalepile Khula

Provincial Communication Officer

082 043 1504


Issued by:


Teboho Thejane

Departmental Spokesperson

082 697 0694



Copyright ©2019 The South African Department of Labour:
Home | Disclaimer | PAIA | Privacy PolicyWebmaster